Board of Directors

Industry Partners

  • Michael Martel, Tembec Inc.
  • Walter Matosevic, Canfor Corporation
  • Pat Wearmouth, Weyerhaeuser Company

First Nations Partners

  • Gary Lipinski, Metis National Council
  • Chief Morris Monias, Heart Lake First Nation
  • Grand Chief Arthur Noskey, Treaty 8 First Nations of Alberta

Government Partners

  • Winn Hays-Byl, B.C. Ministry of Forest and Range
  • Steve Price, Alberta Forestry Research Institute

Institution Partners

  • David MacLean, University of New Brunswick
  • John Saddler, University of British Columbia
  • Tattersall Smith, University of Toronto


  • Fraser Dunn (Board Chair), Retired
  • Christian Messier, Université du Québec à Montréal
  • Gordon Miller, Canadian Forest Service
  • Lucille Partington

Host Institution Appointment

  • John Spence, University of Alberta
    Alternate for John Spence: Bruce Dancik, University of Alberta

Non-Voting Members

  • Harry Bombay, National Aboriginal Forestry Association


  • Sara Esam, Networks of Centres of Excellence
  • Eric Butterworth (Chair - Partners Committee), Ducks Unlimited Canada
  • Terry Veeman, University of Alberta

Ex Officio

  • Jim Fyles, Scientific Director, Program Leader, SFM Network/McGill University
  • Dale Bischoff, Network Manager, SFM Network